TCU’s Trevone Boykin claims Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


TCU’s Trevone Boykin finally found an award that Oregon’s Marcus Mariota couldn’t claim first.

The TCU quarterback was a finalist as the Walter Camp Player of the Year and Davey O’Brien Award. Mariota won both.

As a native of Hawai’i that played at Oregon, Mariota wasn’t eligible for the the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which is given to the best college football player that was either born in the state of Texas, attended a Texas high school or attended a Texas junior college or university.

The recipient must also “succeed on and off the field while having the drive and the tenacity to persist and overcome adversity and injury in the pursuit of reaching their goals.”

Boykin was honored as the 2015 winner.

The TCU quarterback joined Baylor’s Bryce Petty as the first two…

View original post 119 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s